Talking baijiu in Shanghai

Sapajou ShanghaiUPDATE: Friday’s “Unsavory Elements” event has sold out, but tickets are still available for Thursday evening’s talk and tasting.

After two successful, albeit rowdy, talks in Chengdu this past weekend, I’ll be heading back to Shanghai. I return to my former stomping grounds preaching the gospel of baijiu, and hope to leave the “Whore of the Orient” with at least a couple of converts.

My first talk will be on Thursday, March 14, and is hosted by the Shanghai Foreign Correspondents Club. I’ll be discussing China’s drinking culture and my writing on baijiu. We will be tasting several of my favorite Chinese spirits following the talk. I should mention that the similar talk/tasting I gave in Chengdu last week got slightly out of hand, as if you needed any further convincing.

Starts 7pm at Yuan Bar, 17 Xiangyang Bei Lu. Yuan makes a few mean Chinese alcohol cocktails, so I would recommend getting in early or planning to stay late. For more info and directions, please visit the Shanghai FCC website.

Unsavory ElementsThe second talk will be held on Friday, March 15 as part of the Shanghai International Literary Festival. I will be a member of a panel featuring Mark Kitto, Nury Vittachi, Matthew Polly, Tom Carter, Alan Paul and Graham Earnshaw. We’ll be launching the book Unsavory Elements, in which we all contributed essays on the expatriate experience in China. Should be quite a session.

Starts 7pm at M on the Bund, No. 5 The Bund, 7F. For more info, please visit the festival homepage or buy tickets here.

Hope to see you there.

This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Talking baijiu in Shanghai

  1. Hello, I enjoy reading through your article post. I wanted
    to write a little comment to support you.

Leave a Reply

